New Hire Reporting
State Directory of New Hires (SDNH) is a centralized, confidential, and secure repository responsible for receiving new hire data reported by employers in the State of Colorado. Federal law (42 USC 653A(b)(1)(A)) requires employers to furnish this data to the SDNH of the state in which a newly hired employee works.
- This reporting must take place within 20 calendar days after the date of hire or by the first regularly scheduled payroll following the date of hire, if such payroll is after the expiration of the 20-day period.
- If reporting electronically, the employer must transmit twice per month, no fewer than 12 and no more than 16 days apart.
"Employer" has the same definition as for federal income tax purposes.
Who to Report
- Newly hired employees – The law defines a "newly hired employee" as (i) an employee who has not previously been employed by the employer; or (ii) was previously employed by the employer but has been separated from such prior employment for at least 60 consecutive days.
- Rehired employees – If the employee returning to work is required to complete a new W-4 form, or has been separated from your employment for at least 60 consecutive days, you should report the individual as a new hire.
- Contractors – Per Colorado Revised Statutes §13-54-104, 14-10-115 and 14-14-102, payments made to independent contractors are subject to income withholding for child/maintenance support. Independent contractors should be reported if the individual provides their SSN for tax purposes.
What to Report
- About the employee/contractor
- Employee name
- Social Security Number
- Date of birth
- Date of hire - Date of hire is considered to be the first day that services are performed for wages by an individual.
- About the employer
- Payroll address
- Federal identification number (FEIN)
How and Where to Report
The following methods can be used:
- Report on-line at this website.
- You may also Fax or Mail the W-4 or equivalent form:
- Fax to: 303-297-2595
- U.S. mail:
- Colorado State Directory of New Hires
- PO BOX 2920
- Denver, CO 80201-2920
- Diskette, Magnetic Media or Cartridge (please contact the CDHS_FSREmployerServices@state.co.us for formatting requirements).
Contact the CDHS_FSREmployerServices@state.co.us for help with any of these options, or for more online information, please consult the FSR Employer Outreach Guide.
Employers, with employees in two or more states AND who transmit required reports magnetically or electronically, must comply with the law by exercising one of the following options:
- Furnish the new hire report to the State Directory of New Hires of the state in which your newly hired employee works; or
- Designate one state in which any of your employees work and transmit all new hire reports to the State Directory of New Hires of that state.
If the second option is chosen, you must notify the Secretary of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services in writing, of the decision to report to only one state and identify the chosen state.
The following information is required:
- Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- Employer's name, address, and telephone number related to the FEIN
- State selected for reporting purposes
- Other states in which the company has employees
- Corporate point of contact
You can send the form via U.S. mail, addressed to:
- Department of Health and Human Services
- Multi-State Employer Registration
- Office of Child Support Enforcement
- PO BOX 509
- Randallstown, MD 21133
You can also submit the form online at the Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement website.
OCSE New Hire Resources
The Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) also offers resources and assistance concerning the new hire process to employers. If you have further questions or need more information, please visit OCSE New Hire Reporting Information.
42 USC 653a