Welcome to the Colorado State Directory of New Hires Website.
Registered employers may login above. Please bookmark this address http://www.newhire.state.co.us for your
State Directory of New Hires (SDNH) is a centralized, confidential, and secure repository
responsible for receiving new hire data reported by employers in the State of Colorado.
Federal law (42 USC 653A(b)(1)(A)) requires employers to furnish this data to the SDNH of
the state in which a newly hired employee works.
- This reporting must take place within 20 calendar days after the date of hire or by
the first regularly scheduled payroll following the date of hire, if such payroll is
after the expiration of the 20-day period.
- If reporting electronically, the employer must transmit twice per month, no fewer than
12 and no more than 16 days apart.
"Employer" has the same definition as for federal income tax purposes. Employers required
to provide employees with W-2 forms must also comply with new hire reporting requirements.
What to Report
- About the employee
- Employee name
- Social Security Number
- Date of birth (optional)
- Date of hire (optional) - Date of hire is considered to be the
first day that services are performed for wages by an individual.
- About the employer
- Employer name
- Payroll address
- Federal identification number (FEIN)
How and Where to Report
The following methods can be used:
- Report on-line at this website.
- You may also Fax or Mail the W-4 or
- Fax to: 303-297-2595
- U.S. mail:
- Colorado State Directory of New Hires
- PO BOX 2920
- Denver, CO 80201-2920
- Diskette, Magnetic Media or Cartridge (please contact the
Employer Outreach Department for formatting requirements).
Employer Outreach Department for help with any of these options, or
for more online information, please consult the
FSR Employer Outreach Guide.
Employers, with employees in two or more states AND who transmit
required reports magnetically or electronically, must comply with the
law by exercising one of the following options:
- Furnish the new hire report to the State Directory of New Hires of
the state in which your newly hired employee works; or
- Designate one state in which any of your employees
work and transmit all new hire reports to the State
Directory of New Hires of that state.
If the second option is chosen, you must notify the Secretary
of the U. S. Department of Health and Human Services in writing, of the
decision to report to only one state and identify the chosen state.
The following information is required:
- Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN)
- Employer's name, address, and telephone number related to the FEIN
- State selected for reporting purposes
- Other states in which the company has employees
- Corporate point of contact
You can send the form via U.S. mail, addressed to:
- Department of Health and Human Services
- Multi-State Employer Registration
- Office of Child Support Enforcement
- PO BOX 509
- Randallstown, MD 21133
OCSE New Hire Resources
The Federal Office of Child Support Enforcement (OCSE) also offers resources and assistance
concerning the new hire process to employers. If you have further questions or need more
information, please visit
New Hire Process for Private Sector Employers if you are a private sector employer, or
OCSE New Hire Process for Federal Agency Employers
if you are a federal agency employer.
42 USC 653a